General discussion relating to club happenings and items related to Merkurs in general such as "Merkur sightings". If you just signed on, please feel to start a new thread and introduce yourself here. Posts specifically regarding either the XR4Ti or Scorpio should go in those specific forums. Feel free to make suggestions on improving this forum here as well.
Merkur Club web site
Chezboat24

Post by Chezboat24 »

Hey all - just picked up a 1987 Merkur XR4Ti 5-speed today. Definitely a project (needs some rust repair, interior work, etc) but it seemed to drive fine right up until I got home. I went to take it out later but now it refuses to idle. I give it some gas and it's on its way but it refuses to idle. Any suggestions? I'm fairly new to these (pretty much exclusively Honda before this) so I don't really know my way around it. Thanks in advance.
Chezboat24

Re: New Member

Post by Chezboat24 »

Fiddled with the idle screw so that’s the temporary fix. Lots to do in the long-term (rust and paint) so it’s not likely to drive all that far in the short term anyway.
andyofcolumbusmerkur
Level 7
Level 7

Post by andyofcolumbusmerkur »

Do the full tune-up. Best to learn how to do that stuff yourself and not rely on a shop. Check out the vendors here for parts. :D
You do not pick Merkur, Merkur picks you.
john keefe
Level 6
Level 6

Post by john keefe »

Welcome! If it sat for quite a while, but drove well on the way home, then the first thing I'd suspect is that it scavenged some crap that settled in the fuel tank. Tune-up and going through the fuel system would be my first steps.
Ed Lijewski
Level 8

Post by Ed Lijewski »

Clean the idle air control solenoid (remove and liberally shoot brake cleaner in it). Throlle body should be cleaned as well.

YMMV
Descartes: "Cogito Ergo Sum"
Lijewski: "Sum Ergo Drive-O. Mucho!
my8950
Level 7
Level 7

Post by my8950 »

Do the above, but also include fuel filter under the drivers seat.
Where are you located?
Chezboat24