Merkur Scorpio vs. Sierra/Capri/Granada 2.9 12v intakes

Scorpio / Scorpio Cosworth Discussions - Questions, problem resolution, general talk, technical tips and modifications.
PetroleumJunkie412

Merkur Scorpio vs. Sierra/Capri/Granada 2.9 12v intakes

Post by PetroleumJunkie412 » Thu Jan 09, 2020 8:52 am

Hey all, Ranger guy back again.

Posted this over at TRS. Will link this page to that post as well. Guessing ya'll will have some input on this versus the Ranger guys that rarely mess with the 2.9.

https://www.therangerstation.com/forums ... es.184934/

Had family from the UK pick up a few intakes and send them over to me. There's quite a few differences between the Merkur version and euro ones.

The other interesting thing is the gasket on the complete Sierra intake - looks like there's a lower intake I've not yet found. I don't recognize the bolt pattern at all, but I have no experience with the 2.3 and 2.6 cologne, so it could easily be from one of them.

I will say that I have the Merkur one on my Ranger and it's night and day better than the stock Ranger one. Much better throttle response, and according to autotune on the megasquirt, a 13% or so bump in volumetric efficiency over the Ranger high rise across all rpm ranges. Ya'll definitely got the better end of that deal.

brokencase
Level 4
Level 4

Re: Merkur Scorpio vs. Sierra/Capri/Granada 2.9 12v intakes

Post by brokencase » Thu Jan 09, 2020 11:36 pm

The Scorpio has a longer duration camshaft as well. Search through the forum as I posted the specs for each a while back.

But I think it really comes down to the Ranger being setup for more torque. The hp difference is minor between the two.

The Euro 2.9l had dual vane sensors and slightly higher compression ratio. So they made a little more hp. But not much - maybe 5hp

PetroleumJunkie412

Post by PetroleumJunkie412 » Fri Jan 10, 2020 9:26 am

Funny you mention cam, that's the decision I'm making right now.