I want some up-grades

XR4Ti / Sierra / Sierra Cosworth Discussions - Questions, problem resolution, general talk, technical tips and modifications.
User avatar
DPDISXR4Ti
Site Admin
Posts: 13345
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:40 pm
Location: New York

Post by DPDISXR4Ti » Wed Oct 01, 2008 10:52 am

Yes, the PE is only from the '85.5 or '86 SVO. As such, it is sufficiently rare, but it is plug-n-play swap-able into an XR. If you have your LA3/8UA/etc modified by Ian (XR4man), it will also be plug-n-play swap-able, just like a PE. Otherwise, you need to move a couple pins around.
Brad

User avatar
Garret
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 595
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 10:13 pm

Post by Garret » Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:47 pm

XR4man modded my 8ua and it was plug and play, the whole setup with a big vam ran me well under 150 bucks shipped

User avatar
smoke3006
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:48 am
Location: CT

Post by smoke3006 » Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:52 pm

Do the "re-pinned" ECUs still require the ACT sensor to be added?
sam
'86 Regency Red Metallic XR4Ti -Blood Monkey

Cure your fever:
http://www.morecowbell.dj/

User avatar
Garret
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 595
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 10:13 pm

Post by Garret » Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:53 pm

Don't require it, mine sure doesn't have one and I don't miss it

User avatar
DPDISXR4Ti
Site Admin
Posts: 13345
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:40 pm
Location: New York

Post by DPDISXR4Ti » Wed Oct 01, 2008 1:05 pm

smoke3006 wrote:Do the "re-pinned" ECUs still require the ACT sensor to be added?
Confirming what Garret said, no, the ACT is not required, regardless of whether the PCM is re-pinned or not. The ACT input is so minimal, it can be skipped without issue.
Brad

User avatar
Raze
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 248
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 7:59 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Post by Raze » Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:16 pm

MEGASQUIRT, tune to your heart's desire, ability to upgrade w/o worrying about tune, cheap, reliable, learn something...
HY35w, FMIC & BOV, 3" exhaust, 75#/hr, 255lph, MegaSquirt-I V3 w/3bar, T5, 4-point roll bar, rear strut brace, gutted, lexan windows and sunroof, Odyssey PC680, Koni + Ground Control (7" 250#/in) front, KYB (8.5" 600#/in) rear, TC rear brakes

User avatar
xr4man
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 916
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 1:01 pm
Location: westminster, md
Contact:

Post by xr4man » Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:17 pm

i have installed a j3 chip with pe tables and ran the xr to compare it to my la3. i did not notice hardly any difference other than the turbo spools a bit quicker with the la3.

on a side note, an la3 with a j3 chip can have maf tables inserted into the maps. i have read that the pe and pf and pk cannot. but i can't confirm that.
ian the re-animator

User avatar
DPDISXR4Ti
Site Admin
Posts: 13345
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:40 pm
Location: New York

Post by DPDISXR4Ti » Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:39 pm

xr4man wrote:on a side note, an la3 with a j3 chip can have maf tables inserted into the maps. i have read that the pe and pf and pk cannot. but i can't confirm that.
That's not really correct Ian. When doing a MAF conversion, you really only change the values in the existing VAF Xfer table.

The only thing that might be true is with some of the more recent MAF conversions, some additional coding has been done to make them operate like native MAF PCM's, and that's probably only been done with the LA3 family of PCM's.
Brad

CV12Steve
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1473
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:57 pm
Location: Sacramento, CA area
Contact:

Post by CV12Steve » Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:42 am

What about grounding the "Premium Switch" on the PE?
Stephen

Ed Lijewski
Level 8
Posts: 7064
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: The Belly of The Beast

Post by Ed Lijewski » Thu Oct 02, 2008 1:53 pm

That wouldn't be an "upgrade".

YMMV 8)
Descartes: "Cogito Ergo Sum"
Lijewski: "Sum Ergo Drive-O. Mucho!

worked_xr
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1005
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:42 am
Location: Sorrysoda, FL

Post by worked_xr » Thu Oct 02, 2008 7:20 pm

Back to the original poster, look on Craigslist. I've seen 6 L series ECUs come up on the Seattle/Tacoma craigslist in the last year (I bought two of them in fact). Also, if you're not on the list, join PNWMON and post a message. There's more than a few of us in the area and many of us have spare ECUs and parts.

As for PE ('85.5-'86 SVO) vs. L series ('87-'88 Turbocoupe), both are excellent performance upgrades compared to the stock XR ECUs. The PE has a stronger midrange, but the L series will provide nearly the same performance and a better idle. And as for repinning the harness with the L series, don't bother... send it to Ian (xr4man) and have him repin it internally. This will allow you to swap in your stock ECU if you need/want or if you ever luck into a cheap PE.

merkurmaniac
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 736
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 1:34 pm
Location: Sugar Land TX
Contact:

Post by merkurmaniac » Thu Oct 02, 2008 7:43 pm

Ian, what do you charge for this service ? hello.... beuler ....
Image

worked_xr
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1005
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:42 am
Location: Sorrysoda, FL

Post by worked_xr » Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:45 pm

Obviously I'm not Ian, but IMHO what he charges is a darn fair bargain.

merkurmaniac
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 736
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 1:34 pm
Location: Sugar Land TX
Contact:

Post by merkurmaniac » Thu Oct 02, 2008 9:08 pm

I figured that you might know, or more likely I thought that Iam might be reading this post. I see that he posts frequently.
Image

User avatar
xr4man
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 916
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 1:01 pm
Location: westminster, md
Contact:

Post by xr4man » Thu Oct 02, 2008 9:53 pm

40 bones shipped.



and that's chicken bones, not dog bones.\

ok, bad joke, but yeah $40 and i'll test it, mod it, test it again and then ship it back.
ian the re-animator

Post Reply