FAILED SMOG CHECK NEED HELP !!!!

XR4Ti / Sierra / Sierra Cosworth Discussions - Questions, problem resolution, general talk, technical tips and modifications.
preston240sx
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:01 pm
Location: san diego

FAILED SMOG CHECK NEED HELP !!!!

Post by preston240sx » Fri Oct 31, 2008 8:03 pm

ok so i failed smog check today and the mech said my car is getting way to much fuel running way too rich what are my possible reasons for this and what will decrease it here's the print out with what i recieved.

Image

turboplz
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 901
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Holly Srings, Ga

Post by turboplz » Fri Oct 31, 2008 9:19 pm

not that it will really help....but more power mods with no fuel mods will reduce your richness :D

On a more serious note, how is your base timing and TPS? A LOT can result from that. A little trick you can also do, double check it first, I believe you can set your TPS at a really low value and take it to get it smogged and you *should* have a leaner reading.

I think I saw someone do that on Turboford, but can't swear to it.

Jason
Jason

89 Xr4ti..."Bronze Turd"...long term project/current garage queen

2014 Focus ST

preston240sx
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:01 pm
Location: san diego

so

Post by preston240sx » Fri Oct 31, 2008 10:08 pm

yeah so how do i run a code reader on my merk? can't seem to find anything in my car plug wise....also how do i check if my vam is bad ? i read that it can make things loopy.... this whole thing has me scratching my head im no person on emission did'nt have emssion's in Pa where im from ....CALI has crap laws

User avatar
milehighXR
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 2069
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 8:17 pm
Location: Longmont, Co

Post by milehighXR » Fri Oct 31, 2008 11:09 pm

Simplest solution is to leave Cali :lol:
Johnny


1 86 XR aka Naomi- my first love, now project car
1 14 black Fiesta SE aka Fiona- my new DD

DCLXVI

onebadazzsrt
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 545
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 12:44 am
Location: Tacoma WA

Post by onebadazzsrt » Fri Oct 31, 2008 11:35 pm

yeah no $#!*, when I was in cali I got 4 smog tickets for haveing ilegal intake. But yeah my tps was not reading at all and I failed smog pretty bad, it was running too rich, I even put a brand new cat. and about 3 bottles of rubbing alcohol on 5 gals. of gas and it still failed.

If your cars pretty much stock get a waiver for it. I had a shop over here write me a receipt for the amount of the waiver.
J

1987 xr with rs500 fiberglass wing,outcast grill,new shoes,5.0 with GT40 package,powerdyne blower 9psi kit,255

preston240sx
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:01 pm
Location: san diego

i wish

Post by preston240sx » Fri Oct 31, 2008 11:46 pm

well my job(NAVY) does'nt let me just move lol ... but untill i can move i need to find a way to get my merkur not failing emissions i had a feeling something was wrong im only getting 200 miles A tank of gas .. that explanes the .too much fuel ... what can cause to too much fuel effect ? the vam ? fpr? any idea's if there any why to test the vam?

preston240sx
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:01 pm
Location: san diego

humm

Post by preston240sx » Fri Oct 31, 2008 11:49 pm

so ur tps was off.... i wonder if i replaced that if it would help... is there any way to test the tps/?

User avatar
milehighXR
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 2069
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 8:17 pm
Location: Longmont, Co

Re: i wish

Post by milehighXR » Sat Nov 01, 2008 12:54 am

preston240sx wrote:well my job(NAVY) does'nt let me just move lol ... but untill i can move i need to find a way to get my merkur not failing emissions i had a feeling something was wrong im only getting 200 miles A tank of gas .. that explanes the .too much fuel ... what can cause to too much fuel effect ? the vam ? fpr? any idea's if there any why to test the vam?
Can't you just register it in your home state being Navy :dunno
Johnny


1 86 XR aka Naomi- my first love, now project car
1 14 black Fiesta SE aka Fiona- my new DD

DCLXVI

onebadazzsrt
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 545
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 12:44 am
Location: Tacoma WA

Post by onebadazzsrt » Sat Nov 01, 2008 2:57 am

go on the NATO website for how to adjust the tps, I bought a non adjustable tps to get me by until I buy the adjustable one, I tried to take the easy way out and the non-adjust isn't cuttin it.

but anyways you need to get a volt meter and set it at like .94-.99 volt?
maybe someone will chime in with a good reading.
J

1987 xr with rs500 fiberglass wing,outcast grill,new shoes,5.0 with GT40 package,powerdyne blower 9psi kit,255

toastersauce
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 8:45 am
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Contact:

Post by toastersauce » Sat Nov 01, 2008 10:26 am

1. leave cali, thats what i did
2. find a shop that will do it on the DL they are not that hard to find
3. check ur o2 sensor, mine wasn't getting enough exhaust coz of a leak and it ran rich as hell. if yours is the same or just isn't working properly could be that.

User avatar
milehighXR
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 2069
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 8:17 pm
Location: Longmont, Co

Post by milehighXR » Sat Nov 01, 2008 10:27 am

Nope you got it. :thumb
Johnny


1 86 XR aka Naomi- my first love, now project car
1 14 black Fiesta SE aka Fiona- my new DD

DCLXVI

User avatar
DPDISXR4Ti
Site Admin
Posts: 13485
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:40 pm
Location: New York

Post by DPDISXR4Ti » Sat Nov 01, 2008 10:32 am

It it highly unlikely that the TPS is the cause of your rich condition. Regardless, you really need to do proper diagnostic work rather than just blind parts-swapping. And yes, that starts with pulling codes - the connector is over by the inner fender, just forward of the battery. Do you have a code puller?

Do you have an Air/Fuel gauge? They're cheap and easy to install. It'll tell you if you're going closed-loop. I bet you're not.

Have you check fuel pressure? A blown FPR will allow way too much fuel in.
Brad

User avatar
John R. Rowlands
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 696
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 8:31 pm
Location: N.E. Ohio

FAILED SMOG CHECK NEED HELP !!!!

Post by John R. Rowlands » Sat Nov 01, 2008 12:02 pm

preston240sx,

Along with what Brad said, you also need to clean your EGR valve. When was the last time you had an O2 sensor installed in your XR. You also want to make sure your timing is dead on!

John
If it ain't broke don't fix it!

User avatar
John Brennan
Level 8
Posts: 11535
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 4:19 pm
Location: Scottsdale, AZ "Summer Is Coming"

Re: i wish

Post by John Brennan » Sat Nov 01, 2008 12:40 pm

milehighXR wrote:
preston240sx wrote:well my job(NAVY) does'nt let me just move lol ... but untill i can move i need to find a way to get my merkur not failing emissions i had a feeling something was wrong im only getting 200 miles A tank of gas .. that explanes the .too much fuel ... what can cause to too much fuel effect ? the vam ? fpr? any idea's if there any why to test the vam?
Can't you just register it in your home state being Navy :dunno
Not to beat this to death, but is CA your home state? If so, then of course you have to pass CA smog regs ("OK, now, just relax..."). But if your home of record is elsewhere, then by all means keep it registered in that state. CA charges all kinds of fees to bring in any 49-stater into their country-- er, state.
This is my car, and these are my people!
1989 XR4Ti 5-Speed
2001 BMW Z3 3.0 5-Speed
2015 Fiesta ST 6-Speed
2015 Edge 3.5 V6 Auto/Paddles

preston240sx
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:01 pm
Location: san diego

yep

Post by preston240sx » Sat Nov 01, 2008 1:15 pm

no cali is not my state of .... Im registered in and live in Pa where we have no smog check but the thing is .... to get your base stickers to get on base u have to show proof of passing smog ...gay i know and yes im going to make a code puller today i saw the write up on merkur-tech .. my o2 passed smog check... as it should its awhole 2 days old i changed it for the fun of it ... my timing was set at 15 degree's the smog guy said it was 5 degrees of would that make a big difference ? after i make the code puller we'll see whats happening

Post Reply