la2 help

XR4Ti / Sierra / Sierra Cosworth Discussions - Questions, problem resolution, general talk, technical tips and modifications.
ninja z28
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:15 am
Location: Omaha NE

la2 help

Post by ninja z28 » Sat Oct 23, 2010 8:44 pm

(89 merk auto)

I installed a la2 and big vam. timeing was set to 10 btc b4 i started.
i did not do
Step 6: Plug your ACT sensor wire into pin 25.
Step 7: Finally plug the pin coming from the brake pedal into number 2.

from http://www.ptaaron.com/la3/index.html

The car is running like crap. I checked the timeing it is still at 10 deg with and with out the spout. does not move.

I have a ACT from a supercoupe one wire is gray and red the othet is gray. what one is ground?
what yall think?

animalguy10
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Barrie Ontario

a newby reply

Post by animalguy10 » Sat Oct 23, 2010 11:38 pm

I just did this swap and you may be able to find my link below I did not do the ACT or the brake ... Mines running great aside froma solanoid on pass inner fender buzzing when car isnt running with ignition on.

The computer do need to run for a bit to get set up.. has the car run very long with the new computer..? Again im as new to the swap as you but i was told that they take a bit to learn....
1984 SVO rebuilt roller ranger cam, ported intake upper lower. E6 Ported t3 rebuilt by cherry. FMI stinger LA3 swap larger throtle body.
1977 f250 dually FUN FUN.
85 XR 5spd T5 FMI Rapido cosworth hood grille
86 XR parts
88 auto STOCK BONE STOCK

ninja z28
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:15 am
Location: Omaha NE

Post by ninja z28 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 8:13 am

tryed to take it around the block but barley made it. if i give it any gas it bogs and tryes to die

User avatar
RatFink
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 456
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:21 pm
Location: Show-Cal
Contact:

Re: la2 help

Post by RatFink » Sun Oct 24, 2010 9:33 am

ninja z28 wrote: The car is running like crap. I checked the timeing it is still at 10 deg with and with out the spout. does not move.
This is a problem. Timing should advance roughly 20 degrees with the spout in.
Daniel Llewellyn

"You can never turn a pig into a race horse, but with enough development you can have a pretty damn fast pig".
Randy Pobst

I just love this guy:
hEaT wrote:Bit more work, but saved me $100 and I got to learn things, cut things, burn things and hammer things. All in all, a solid move.

ninja z28
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:15 am
Location: Omaha NE

Post by ninja z28 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 12:48 pm

hooked up pin 25 to the Supercoupe gary and red wire to the ACT. gray to ground
set the timeing with the spout installed to 20. still runs like $#!%.
when i take the spout out the timeing does not jump back.

85xr
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 7:18 am
Location: dayton oh

Post by 85xr » Sun Oct 24, 2010 1:07 pm

pull the spout out, set timing to 10 degrees, plug spout back in, should advance to about 30 degrees.
maybe set the timing to 30 degrees with the spout plugged in, see what happens.
greg

ninja z28
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:15 am
Location: Omaha NE

Post by ninja z28 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 1:21 pm

removed spout set it to 10. put the spout back in it says at 10. worked fine b4 i installed the la2 and vam

AMXSC
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 6:53 pm

Post by AMXSC » Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:03 pm

If the timing does not advance with the spout plugged in the problem could be that the computer is not seeing the engine load. The computer sees engine load from the VAM sensor. Try swapping the VAM sensor. If you do not have another big VAM you can test with your small VAM it will start and run very rich. If this fixes the timming problem it should run alot better.

Hope this helps.
James
1988 Merkur Xr4ti
1985 SVO Mustang
1985.5 SVO Mustang

ninja z28
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:15 am
Location: Omaha NE

Post by ninja z28 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:10 pm

i will try that next. it is hard to start also

AMXSC
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 6:53 pm

Post by AMXSC » Mon Oct 25, 2010 2:45 am

The hard starting could also be caused by a bad VAM. With the turbocoupe computer the engine will crank over several times before starting if it doesn't see a good signal from the VAM sensor and the TP sensor. It goes into limp home mode insead of warm up mode.

In limp home the computer will not control engine timming and the engine will run very rich. It also will run super rich and miss at about 2000-3000 rpms because the computer is dumping so much fuel into the engine it's fowling the plugs. If you pull one of your spark plugs and it's black or even wet from gas the computer is in limp home mode.

When you swap the VAM and if the VAM fixes the timming problem. Run the car at 45-65mph for about 10-15 minutes to clean the carbon off the plugs. Disconnect the battery to reset the computer. Reconnect the battery and it should start alot better.

James
1988 Merkur Xr4ti
1985 SVO Mustang
1985.5 SVO Mustang

ninja z28
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:15 am
Location: Omaha NE

Post by ninja z28 » Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:06 am

sounds like the problem. my afr is reading maxed out

User avatar
tvissoc
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 325
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 6:42 pm
Location: Tipp City, OH
Contact:

Post by tvissoc » Mon Oct 25, 2010 3:34 pm

ninja z28 wrote:sounds like the problem. my afr is reading maxed out
Was this a re-pinned computer, or did you just swap pins in the harness? Just checking to make sure you're following the right procedure for the right computer. I re-pinned my harness, which was all that was available when I did mine.
Tony Vissoc
Nothing to see here. Move along.

ninja z28
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:15 am
Location: Omaha NE

Post by ninja z28 » Mon Oct 25, 2010 4:46 pm

re-pined harness

ninja z28
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:15 am
Location: Omaha NE

Post by ninja z28 » Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:17 pm

The LA2 is bad. i checked the pins. swaped to the small vam. same thing repined back to stock installd the pk and big vam works fine. swaped to the small vam and all good.

User avatar
tvissoc
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 325
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 6:42 pm
Location: Tipp City, OH
Contact:

Post by tvissoc » Mon Oct 25, 2010 7:55 pm

ninja z28 wrote:The LA2 is bad. i checked the pins. swaped to the small vam. same thing repined back to stock installd the pk and big vam works fine. swaped to the small vam and all good.
Bummer, but glad you found the problem.
Tony Vissoc
Nothing to see here. Move along.

Post Reply