Where to begin with upgrades?

XR4Ti / Sierra / Sierra Cosworth Discussions - Questions, problem resolution, general talk, technical tips and modifications.
johnsmerkur

Where to begin with upgrades?

Post by johnsmerkur » Tue Oct 26, 2010 8:44 pm

Im new to turbo cars so I want to build my merkur a little bit, has new engine, full 3 inch exhaust with flowmaster, and everything else is stock as far as I know. Just want to know where to start with upgrades, I just ordered yellow konis all the way around and I found ground control coilovers but just the front, so if anyone know where to get the rears. I want to take this car to motocross races next year so Im trying to get the suspension done first but want to get around 275 maybe 300 horse out of this eventually. So just like some more info about the car thanks

merkurdriver
Level 8

Post by merkurdriver » Tue Oct 26, 2010 10:22 pm

3" exhaust is a good start, next maybe the "big" VAM air meter and ECU to match. Add an intercooler into the mix around the same time as the ECU swap.

divinez
Level 2
Level 2

Post by divinez » Tue Oct 26, 2010 11:31 pm

zac.

86XR4Ti5SPD
Level 3
Level 3

Post by 86XR4Ti5SPD » Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:44 pm

A few additional simple updates I'd suggest are BAT's short-shift kit (I cut mine down another inch since my leather knob was a little tall) and a remote heat sink-mounted TFI for improved reliability. Obvious considerations for your autoX plans are bigger wheels/tires and maybe the rear disk conversion. Gook luck with it.
Ed, Nashville
98 SVT Cobra, 1-owner 33K-mile convertible bought 8/15
86 5-spd, Solid Roof, sold 9/15 with 62K miles
03 SVTF #1965 of 3985, sold 9/15 with 68K miles
http://www.86xr4ti5spd.homestead.com

John V
Level 7
Level 7

Re: Where to begin with upgrades?

Post by John V » Thu Oct 28, 2010 12:01 am