neg. rear camber with all stock parts.

XR4Ti / Sierra / Sierra Cosworth Discussions - Questions, problem resolution, general talk, technical tips and modifications.
Merkur Club web site
rab
Level 2
Level 2

neg. rear camber with all stock parts.

Post by rab »

im very new to the merkur, but i bought 2 last year and im thinking im going to start
mess with the good one, one was for parts only a roll over.

well looking at them they both appear to have a good amount of neg camber in the rear.
do these car come with that way, or is it just worn out parts, or what?????

im guess both cars have oe/stock parts still on them as they both are under 80,000 miles and unmolested.
xR4rally
Level 3
Level 3

Re: neg. rear camber with all stock parts.

Post by xR4rally »

Due to the design of the semi-trailing arm rear suspension, as it sags the top of the wheel pulls inward. You most likely have worn or sagging bushings, springs, or both. This is a common problem with these cars.
There is plenty of info on this forum about it and some fixes. Also check with the encyclopedia and there may also be some info on the mc2 website.
"More horsepower makes you faster in the straights. Less weight makes you faster everywhere."
-Colin Chapman
hEaT
Level 7
Level 7

Post by hEaT »

I'd bet money on the diff mount being a major cause of that as well.
Esteban
Level 7
Level 7

Post by Esteban »

Yeah you can blame it on 20+ year old rubber bushings. A visit to MC2racing.com can help fix these. But the cheapest way would just be to shim the carriers to correct the camber and toe.
rab
Level 2
Level 2

Post by rab »

anyone know the exact bushings that usually cause this?
im sure i will change them all with poly or better along
with the springs and shocks.
Esteban
Level 7
Level 7

Post by Esteban »

The rear diff mount is the main one. As well as sagged springs
blizboy
Level 2
Level 2

Post by blizboy »