Valve Stem Seals

XR4Ti / Sierra / Sierra Cosworth Discussions - Questions, problem resolution, general talk, technical tips and modifications.
Merkur Club web site
thesameguy
Level 7
Level 7

Valve Stem Seals

Post by thesameguy »

Ye olde XR4Ti has developed a pretty powerful oil smell during decel. It's fine in the morning, but gets pretty bad once the car has warmed up at all. The oil is admittedly about a year old, but that represents about 2,000 miles so not much use. It's synthetic 10w-40, same stuff I've been using for 15 years. The head was rebuilt about ten years and 25,000-30,000 miles ago by a reputable machine shop, for whatever that's worth. The valve stem seals would be the Felpro ones that came in the head set. I'm not seeing any smoking at idle, so I don't *think* it's the turbo, but that's on the table as well. It's been so little time I've not really observed any oil loss, but the smell is unmistakable... obviously. ;) The appearance of the smell was sudden - like last week nothing, this week consistent behavior.

I'll do some investigating before committing to work, but I'm curious if anyone has any tips for the job. I have a compressor adapter, so the plan would be to replace the seals without removing the head. I also have these things:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0012 ... UTF8&psc=1

which have been useful in the past.

Any thoughts/ideas/prayers? :)
Ed Lijewski
Level 8

Re: Valve Stem Seals

Post by Ed Lijewski »

I'd first check for VC gasket leak on exhaust msnifold side. Doesn't take more than a drop or drip drip on hot iron for the nose to detect it.

OTOH during decel engine vacuum is highest so a poor valve seal could allow oil to sneak past it.

The valve seal R&R tool makes replacing the seals easy. No tool needed to remove/reinstall the keepers.

Felpro seals are OK. I found on my professionally rebuilt head that one seal in particulsr hasn't been fully seated downward over the valve guide.

[I have the valve seal tool.]