[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 583: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 639: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
The Merkur Club of America Forums • installed HALLMAN Boost Controller but...
Page 1 of 1

installed HALLMAN Boost Controller but...

Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2020 7:52 pm
by R1S1
So i installed this boost controller just for fun, set the lowest setting possible (Screw counter clockwise out) but no luck it wants to give full boost, you think its toast or maybe needs repair, i do hear the check valve is loose inside as it should be :?:

Re: installed HALLMAN Boost Controller but...

Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2020 11:36 pm
by thesameguy
A manual boost controller can't lower boost, it can only raise boost. Minimum boost will always be controlled by the wastegate actuator.

Re: installed HALLMAN Boost Controller but...

Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:20 am
by R1S1
thank you sir, im still learning as much as possible this being my first Turbo car. :notworthy

Re: installed HALLMAN Boost Controller but...

Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2020 8:41 am
by John Brennan
Maybe post a pic of it and how you have it mounted/connected. As sameguy said, minimum boost is set by the Waste Gate Actuator (WGA) and is nominally ten PSI. What is the level you are seeing on the gauge?

Re: installed HALLMAN Boost Controller but...

Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2020 10:53 am
by andyofcolumbusmerkur
R1S1 wrote:
Sun Jan 12, 2020 7:52 pm
So i installed this boost controller just for fun, set the lowest setting possible (Screw counter clockwise out) but no luck it wants to give full boost, you think its toast or maybe needs repair, i do hear the check valve is loose inside as it should be :?:
If the diaphragm on the turbo is bad you will have no control and just boost to the moon all the time. Do you have one from boost valve dot com? If it's an ebay cheapie I wouldn't even use it. I unscrewed my boost valve all the way out (older brass gillis type) and the ball got lost. Zero boost. I was able to go on their site and just order the spring and ball which was pretty cool. Is the ball or spring just rattling around inside? That doesn't sound right it should have some tension.

Re: installed HALLMAN Boost Controller but...

Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2020 10:59 am
by andyofcolumbusmerkur
Just noticed you said it was a Hallman. Just remember the name brand stuff like turbosmart or forge is expensive, so if it was 19.99 or something I would be suspect that it is real. Not sure if there are Hallman fakes out there but I wouldn't be surprised.

Re: installed HALLMAN Boost Controller but...

Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2020 12:20 pm
by thesameguy
Hallman is very reputable - they have been around literally forever... probably one of the first modern MBCs out there.

Re: installed HALLMAN Boost Controller but...

Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2020 7:47 pm
by andyofcolumbusmerkur
Should be a good one then if it's genuine. Here's a pic of a fake (sometimes they will print (not lazer etch) forge turbosmart etc. So if it ships from asia and is 20-30 bucks I'd be suspicious.
Image