Question installing AEM wide band 30-4110...

XR4Ti / Sierra / Sierra Cosworth Discussions - Questions, problem resolution, general talk, technical tips and modifications.
Post Reply
pvan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 1:26 pm

Question installing AEM wide band 30-4110...

Post by pvan » Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:35 pm

Looking at adding an AEM wide band O2 kit to my modified '85 XR4Ti and was wondering if this will work with the stock computer? I have read opinions stating both yes and no. I'd like it mainly for the gauge and to keep an eye on my AFR, but I want to replace the stock sensor rather than run a second O2 if possible.

So, can I replace my stock O2 sensor with the AFR and not mess up my reading to the computer? In photos/instrutions, I saw there is a switch on the back to change the signal and was wondering if that is what I would use.

Thanks for any help.

User avatar
andyofcolumbusmerkur
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 7:58 pm

Re: Question installing AEM wide band 30-4110...

Post by andyofcolumbusmerkur » Sat Mar 23, 2019 9:23 am

I have always seen the wideband stuff added on as a second O2 and all it's wiring. Not sure what would happen if you replaced the stock O2 with a wideband version. There's probably a way to run just a single O2 as long as the computer gets the same input it did before.
You're only as good as the last car you build.

pvan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 1:26 pm

Re: Question installing AEM wide band 30-4110...

Post by pvan » Sat Mar 23, 2019 10:53 pm

I had read something about some have both a wide band signal for a gauge, but also had a standard (narrow) band for the stock ECU. Hoping someone knows of such a beast.

cmouta
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 5:25 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Question installing AEM wide band 30-4110...

Post by cmouta » Mon Mar 25, 2019 4:57 pm

I've never personally used one but it sounds like you're talking about something like this:

https://www.plxdevices.com/Wideband-O2- ... 002726.htm
Chris
1988 Mono Rosso Red Merkur XR4Ti - Sold!

JimG
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 507
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 8:30 pm
Location: Waterford, Virginia

Re: Question installing AEM wide band 30-4110...

Post by JimG » Thu Mar 28, 2019 6:11 pm

Its my understanding that to get an accurate reading on a wideband, the sensor needs to be further away from the Turbo. Check the mfr or maybe stinger
Jim Gosses
86 XR4TI, 165K, IC, RR, PBR Fronts, T-bird Rear Discs
Image

jkxr4ti
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 952
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 1:43 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: Question installing AEM wide band 30-4110...

Post by jkxr4ti » Sun Mar 31, 2019 3:41 pm

If the wideband has a simulated narrowband output this can be fed to the factory ecu. The main issue with the wideband too close to the turbo is longevity. They recommend 18” down stream of the turbo to make it last. I have mine 1/2 way through the downpipe. I’ve replaced a couple sensors in the 10 or so years I’ve been running mine. I can’t say for certain if the failures were from heat or what but I don’t think 5 years is bad for an O2 sensor. They also make heatsinks to install between the sensor and downpipe if you wanted to try one of those.
Here is just one example:
https://www.verociousmotorsports.com/Sh ... -Heat-Sink
Merkur....Its German for Mutt....Mustang, Saab, Volvo, Lincoln, Contour, Cummins... and the list goes on.

Jeremy Kemp

1988 XR4Ti Chestnut Brown/Spice Leather
MC2 Coilovers and Bushings, Contour Rims and Rotors, Ported Motorsport Head, Cosworth 4x4 Intercooler, Holset HY35 Turbo, 80LB Injectors, Megasquirt2 EFI

User avatar
andyofcolumbusmerkur
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 7:58 pm

Re: Question installing AEM wide band 30-4110...

Post by andyofcolumbusmerkur » Tue Apr 02, 2019 9:51 am

I never heard of doing this before, but I guess you can connect the analog outputs to your engines computer. This one seems cool, and not super expensive. But if any part ever broke you'd lose the signal, so maybe leave an old fashion O2 sensor installed to use as a backup.
https://www.summitracing.com/parts/inn- ... gJsZfD_BwE
You're only as good as the last car you build.

thesameguy
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 2029
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 5:06 pm
Location: Sacramento
Contact:

Re: Question installing AEM wide band 30-4110...

Post by thesameguy » Sat Apr 06, 2019 12:24 pm

Air:Fuel sensors ("WBO2") work differently than conventional O2 sensors, and while many AFR sensors will simulate O2 sensor readings, they aren't exactly analogous. On primitive engine management like EEC IV it may be fine, but it also might not work as expected. That, coupled with the need to mount the AFR sensor further downstream gives little reason to use the emulation IMHO. Leave the factory sensor where it is, put the AFR further down in the downpipe where it belongs, & run them both.

Post Reply